Yoga & Meditatiom

When we talk about the origins of Yoga we have to look way back in history to the ancient times. Some people say that Yoga was developed in the Indus-Sarasvati civilization which was a very long time ago. The Indus-Sarasvati civilization is the largest civilization in the ancient world developed in the Indus Valley of India over 12,000 years ago.

The Indus and Sarasvati river valleys of Bharatvarsha (present India and Pakistan) were the home to the ancient civilization of Indus-Sarasvati people. Continue Reading >>

You might have heard the term yoga asanas before, but what are they really?

Asana is a Sanskrit term which is traditionally defined as “posture” or “pose.” Asana can also be translated as “a steady, comfortable seat,” particularly for the purpose of meditation.

Many people equate asana with the act of performing fancy, advanced poses. However, anyone of any level of experience can practice asanas (whether beginner, intermediate, or advanced). Continue Reading >>

In order to live and keep the body healthy, we need not only food and water, but also air to breathe. We breathe so often, and without thinking, that it’s easy to forget about. We can go days without water and possibly weeks without food but we can only go minutes without breathing.

So the air we breathe is even more important than eating and drinking. We can even say that our life begins and ends with a breath.

In yoga we want a more conscious breathing, and since the goal of yoga is to lead to meditation, then we want the breathing to be focused on awareness. Continue Reading >>

om symbolYoga in Sanskrit is ‘Union’ and it has as its goal a Holy purpose which is meditation. Meditation refers to a mental and spiritual state in which we tune into the Divine, also known as Consciousness or the Supreme.

Meditation in Sanskrit is Dhyana which is also the seventh limb of the eight limbed Raja Yoga, as defined in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras. Many people who do yoga set aside time in their lives for a meditation practice. Continue Reading >>

lotus flower of mindfulnessAccording to the ancient Vedas there are three primary traditional paths of Yoga: Jnana, Bhakti and Karma Yoga.

First is Jnana Yoga or the Yoga of Knowledge, which is the Yoga of Veda as the way of inner wisdom.

The second path of Yoga is Bhakti Yoga or the Yoga of Devotion and Divine Love. Bhakti Yoga is the love of the Self (the Divine) in the form of the Universal Being and all of his/her formations and manifestations.

Third is Karma Yoga or the Yoga of right action, service and ritual, which is action in harmony with the Universal Being. It consists of aligning our outer lives with the inner Reality and we access this through Knowledge and Devotion. Continue Reading >>

This period comprises of almost 2000 years until the time of the 2nd century B.C. By this time many texts like the Brahmanas, Aranyakas, the Upnishads, the Bhagavad Gita, the Ramayana and the Mahabharata had made their appearance.

All these texts contained various kinds of yoga teachings that in some way or other expounded on the ultimate universal truth about the unity of everything. Continue Reading >>

Hiranyagarba or The Hiranyagarba translates literally as the ‘golden womb’ or ‘golden egg’, (poetically the ‘universal germ’) and is said to be the source of the creation of the universe or the manifested cosmos. In Vedic philosophy it is often mentioned that Hiranyagarbha was the creator of yoga.

The Hirayagarbha Sukta is a hymn or chant from the Rig-Veda {RV 10:121}. It praises the Creator, his Creations and his treasures. It contains 10 verses. Continue Reading >>


The Vedic mantras, starting with the oldest Rigveda, form a path of Mantra Yoga. The Vedas are said to manifest from hearing the cosmic sound, OM, that is the foremost of all mantras, the very Divine Word itself. Hindus continue to chant mantras from the ancient texts after thousands of years.

The Four Goals of Life

The Vedic tradition recognizes four great goals of human life: Dharma, Artha, Kama and Moksha. Continue Reading >>

Asana is the aspect of Yoga least detailed in older Vedic and Yogic texts and is the aspect of classical Yoga given least importance overall. Sometimes little more about asana is said in the older texts than the need to sit straight (Bhagavad Gita and Upanishads), or to maintain a comfortable pose (Yoga Sutras.)

This has led some people to think that the active asana approaches and movements, such as practiced by many modern Yoga groups, were not part of the older Yoga traditions or were not known in India. Continue Reading >>

Yoga Darshana and The Yoga Sutras

Apart from the general branches of Yoga is Yoga Darshana – Yoga as one of the schools of Hindu/Vedic philosophy, as explained in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras, regarded as the primary text on Yoga.

Yoga Darshana has its roots in the Vedas as is explained in the Mahabharata. Its founder is said to be Hiranyagarbha, often a name for Lord Brahma as the source of the cosmic Creation. Continue Reading >>

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

SIGN UP & Get our FREE ebook

Download the Yoga & Meditation Report NOW